Profile photo of Dr. Dongmei Cheng

Dr. Dongmei Cheng

Assistant Professor

Literature and Languages

Office Location: Hall of Languages 116

Email: dongmei.cheng@tamuc.edu



Resources

Online Dictionaries

Cambridge Learner’s Dictionary (CLD) http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/learner-english

Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary (CALD) http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british

Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English (LDCE) www.ldoceonline.com

Macmillan Dictionary (MD) www.macmillandictionary.com

Merriam-Webster Learner’s Dictionary (MWLD) www.learnersdictionary.com

Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary (OALD) www.oxfordadvancedlearnersdictionary.com

 

Writing

21 Classes Corporative Learning: https://www.21classes.com/

Bubblus—Mindmaps: https://bubbl.us/

Creating Rubrics Online: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/index.php

Edublogs: http://edublogs.org/

Google Docs: https://docs.google.com/

Mahara Online Open Source E-portfolios: https://mahara.org/

Pbwiki: http://www.pbworks.com/

Project Syndicate: The World Opinion Page: http://www.project-syndicate.org/

Purdue University Online Writing Lab: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

 

Reading

Famous People English Reading with Questions: http://www.famouspeoplelessons.com/

Graphic Organizers by Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition: http://www.carla.umn.edu/cobaltt/modules/strategies/gorganizers/index.html

Holt Interactive Graphic Organizers: http://my.hrw.com/nsmedia/intgos/html/igo.htm

Readworks.org: https://www.readworks.org/

Read Write Think: http://www.readwritethink.org/

Spreeder—online speed reading training: http://www.spreeder.com/

Stumbleupon (tailored to individual interests): www.stumbleupon.com

Vocabulary

Vocabulary.com: https://www.vocabulary.com/

Vocabulary exercises for the Academic Word List: http://www.englishvocabularyexercises.com/AWL

Wordle—Beautiful Word Cloud: http://www.wordle.net/

WordNet- smart thesaurus: http://wordnet.princeton.edu/

Wordsift: https://wordsift.org/

 

Grammar

Common errors in English: http://public.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/errors.html

English Grammar Basics: http://www.talkenglish.com/grammar/grammar.aspx

Grammar girl’s tips: http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl

Idiom connection: http://www.idiomconnection.com/

Marsha Chan’s first 2,000 most frequent word quizzes: http://streaming.missioncollege.org/mchan/media/voc/index3x.html

Perfect English Grammar: http://www.perfect-english-grammar.com/

Traditional ESL Grammar Activities: http://a4esl.org/

Listening & Speaking

American English sound pronunciation guide: http://pronuncian.com/sounds/

American English pronunciation: www.rachelsenglish.com

Audioboom: http://audioboom.com/

Audio Dropbox: http://clear.msu.edu/teaching/online/ria/audioDropbox2/

Breaking News English: http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/

Conversation starters in daily life: http://www.dailyesl.com/

Elllo listening library: http://www.elllo.org/

English Accent Coach: http://www.englishaccentcoach.com/index.aspx

English with Jennifer: https://www.youtube.com/user/JenniferESL

ESL videos (sorted by proficiency levels): www.eslvideo.com

Eview interviews with different English accents: www.eviews.net

Simple English News with transcripts: http://www.simpleenglishnews.com/

Storycorps—Stories from Everyday People: http://storycorps.org/

Ted talks (Ideas worth spreading): http://www.ted.com/

The American Life—Radio Archives & Podcasts: http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives

The Effortless English Blog: http://effortlessenglishclub.com/blog-and-video-podcast-

The Moth—True Stories Told Alive: http://themoth.org/

Video Dropbox: http://clear.msu.edu/teaching/online/ria/videoDropbox/

Watching youtube videos without ads and comments: http://viewpure.com/

Youglish (using Youtube to improve English pronunciation): https://youglish.com/

Presentations

Creating visual ideas: www.easel.ly/

Creating visual ideas: http://piktochart.com/

Digital story telling: http://digitales.us/

Digital story telling center: www.storycenter.org

Educreations—Interactive Whiteboard: https://www.educreations.com/

Flickr photo sharing: www.flickr.com

Fotofriend video recording & editing: www.fotofriend.com

Jing (sharing images and videos of your computer screen): http://www.techsmith.com/jing.html

Kahoot!: https://getkahoot.com/

Renderforest (Online video and animation maker in the Cloud): https://www.renderforest.com/

Screencast-O-Matic: http://screencast-o-matic.com/home

Wallwisher online posting board: www.padlet.com

 

 

Pragmatics & Culture

Film Script Database (over 1,000 downloadable scripts): http://www.simplyscripts.com/

Global Voices (more than 300 bloggers & translators around the world): http://globalvoicesonline.org/

International News: http://www.abyznewslinks.com/

NationMaster: http://www.nationmaster.com/

Pew Global Attitudes Project: http://www.pewglobal.org/

SecondLife--Gaming & Virtual Interaction: http://secondlife.com/

Seinfeld Scripts for 180 Episodes from Nine Seasons: http://www.seinfeldscripts.com/

Speech Acts Database Compiled by CARLA Institute: http://www.carla.umn.edu/speechacts/index.html

Speech Acts Lesson Plans from American English: http://americanenglish.state.gov/resources/teaching-pragmatics#child-531

Teacher's Guide to Currency Around the World: https://www.onemainfinancial.com/teachers-guide-to-currency-around-the-world

The Cultura Exchange Project Website: http://cultura.mit.edu/

World Values Survey: http://www.worldvaluessurvey.org/wvs.jsp

Self-study & Spelling

5 minute ESL lessons: http://www.5minuteenglish.com/

BBC Learning English (many business English resources): http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/

English guide: http://www.english-guide.org/

englishPage.com (Free online English lessons & ESL / EFL resources): https://www.englishpage.com/

ESL gold (with everything you need!): http://www.eslgold.com/

ESL help resources: https://www.wyzant.com/resources/lessons/english/esl


Learn American English Online: http://www.learnamericanenglishonline.com/

Learn English games: http://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/en/games


Learn English Kids: http://learnenglishkids.britishcouncil.org/en/

Learn English speaking free: http://www.talkenglish.com/

Online/mobile notecards: www.studyblue.com

Spelling practice game: http://www.spellingcity.com/

The Ultimate Spelling Resource Guide: http://www.supersummary.com/spelling-guide/

UE help for students learning English: http://www.usingenglish.com/esl/students/

Disclaimer:

Please note that this resource page contains links to external websites for informational purposes only. Please use the content provided in these third-party websites at your own risk. Dr. Dongmei Cheng is not responsible for the content of any of the websites linked in this page; the inclusion of the links here does not necessarily indicate any endorsement of the content provided in these external websites.

Disclaimer: This site may contain links to web sites not administered by A&M-Commerce or one of its divisions, departments, units or programs. A&M-Commerce is not responsible or liable for the accuracy or the content of the linked pages.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!